About Photo Editing and Restoration

Among my (long, long) list of things I need to do, I need to go out and take more photos.  Or stay inside and take more photos.  I just need to take more photos.  I have not done that recently, however today I’ve been editing some.  My fiancé has some images – mostly scans of old photos – he needed cleaned up before he could use them, and I’ve taken up that task.

Most of these photos just need some straightening and light cropping.  There’s usually a lightish scattering of dust spots that need taken out, as well as the occasional crease.

However.

The last one I’ve been working on has had So Many Dust Spots that I wanted to share it.  Or at least a small fraction of it.

But first, here is a screenshot of a photo I took that you may have seen in this post.

I hate spot removal

Do you see all those little dots and circles all over the image? Those are dust specs that I removed in Camera RAW.

Previously, that was the most I’ve had to deal with in one image. That looks like a bunch, right? Well, I have a new record with the image I’m working on restoring now.  Take a look at this small fraction of an image.

why - just why

All those circles? Yeah. Dust spots and other similar blemishes. This is a piece of sky in the image I’m working on, and I’m not finished yet. This is just part of the small junk I need to get rid of in order to make getting rid of some bigger junk easier.

I hope you enjoyed this wordier-than-normal post about what I’m currently up to. Let me know if you like this sort of thing, and I may try to do more posts like this.

Leave a comment